If You Liked That…Read This: Historical Fiction Edition

I am a sucker for a good historical fiction. I’m a bit of a history buff and so when I can get my hands on a book that can transport me fully into a different time and place, I’m a happy little clam. I know it’s not a genre for everyone, but hopefully you’ll give at least one of my recommendations a shot!


If You Liked The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah… Read Stars Over Clear Lake by Loretta Ellsworth

Both stories featured star-crossed lovers set amidst the backdrop of WWII, with The Nightingale being located in France and Stars Over Clear Lake is set in Iowa. I would put Hannah’s novel more in the literary historical fiction category, as it has won many awards. But what I really enjoyed about Stars was how it incorporated the local ballroom and big bands into the overall plot. I really feel like this is an underrated gem of a story.

If You Liked Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys… Read The Paragon Hotel by Lyndsay Faye

These two books focus on stories and eras that are fairly unique to the genre. I loved that they dive into fairly important issues, though completely different from one another. Both follow women that are sit fairly outside of the normal realms of society, one being involved in the 20’s New York mafia and the other growing up within a 50’s New Orleans brothel. I feel like The Paragon Hotel really takes some of the darker themes of Out of the Easy and dives deeper into them. It’s not a happy story, but so important in today’s world. Please be aware – The Paragon Hotel includes adult content.

If You Liked Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell… Read Roses by Leila Meacham

If you’re a regular to my blog, then you might be a little tired of me constantly mentioning Roses. But it is so worth it! It has such a sweeping romance story with a focus on family history and relationships, just like Gone with the Wind. I will say that it does go back and forth between early 1900’s Texas to the Present, spanning three generations. It’s such a great story and there is even a prequel, Summerset, that you can dive into afterwards as well.


What are some historical fiction novels that you would recommend? Have you read any of my recommendations? If so, what did you think about them?

4 thoughts on “If You Liked That…Read This: Historical Fiction Edition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s