If You Liked That…Read This: Science Fiction Edition

Do you like space? Aliens? What about futuristic societies? If you answered yes to any or all of those, then I think you’ll appreciate today’s recommendations. I’ve always been a big science fiction reader, as that’s what my dad has always read and got me into from a very young age. Now I can’t get enough!


If You Liked The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams… Read Space Opera by Catherynne M. Valente

If you enjoyed the really kooky aspect of Hitchhiker, then you’ll appreciate Valente’s writing as well. Both books explore the more minute details of what life is like for everyone else in space, especially the really strange customs of our alien neighbors. It’s sad to think that we haven’t actually been able to participate in a galaxy-wide singing competition.

If You Liked The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins… Read Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Both of these stories involve futuristic dystopian societies that are separated by “districts” in the former and “colors” in the latter. They focus on the struggle between classes and a rebellion against the ruling system in power. However, I would say that Red Rising continues to grow in scale with each book and far surpasses The Hunger Games in terms of writing quality. Be warned though, it is truly an adult trilogy as it contains extreme violence!

If You Liked Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff… Read Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre

If you enjoyed the unusual aspect of AIDAN and his interesting perspective, then I think you’ll appreciate the sentient ship in Honor Among Thieves, Nadim. The dynamic between him and his Honors is extremely interesting and is something completely unique to any other YA novel that I’ve read. Also, DIVERSITY!!! And it only gets better and better with the sequel.


Do you enjoy reading science fiction? Have you read any of the books on my list? Would you agree with my recommendations? What books would you recommend?

7 thoughts on “If You Liked That…Read This: Science Fiction Edition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s