If You Liked That…Read This: Classics Edition

I’m sure you all have seen this kind of post at some point or another so I don’t think it really needs too much explaining. But today I wanted to start out with some recommendations based on classic books that you might have read and really enjoyed! I used to read classics really often and lately I’ve been thinking back on some of my favorites and comparing them to newer releases. I hope you enjoy! 🙂


If You Liked Little Women by Louisa May Alcott… Read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Now it might seem like these two books are vastly different, but I would have to say that below the surface they share a lot of common themes. The dynamics of sister relationships changing, female coming of age stories, strong focus on writing and literature, and a bit of romance can all be found and explored in both of these stories. I would say Cath might not be as immediately likable as Jo is, but her journey of self-discovery is still enjoyable.

If You Liked Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray… Read Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1) by Julie C. Dao

I don’t think many people would say that Becky Sharp is a shining example of a human being, and you sure as hell can’t say that about Xifeng either. These two women come from low backgrounds and are willing to do anything to climb to the top of the society. If you like reading about strong and independent women clawing their way to the top, I think you’ll enjoy both of these. Though be warned, Xifeng is a much darker than Becky!

If you liked Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte… Read Sadie by Courtney Summers

Okay, these two books are completely different on the surface – one is a romance and the other is a mystery/thriller. However, both follow two of the most courageous and amazing heroines. You won’t get any romance in Sadie, but what you will get is a girl who will do anything to figure out the truth and seek vengeance for her sister. Jane and Sadie are both women that have the kind of inner strength to persevere and stick to their sense of right and wrong, even amidst some of the most trying circumstances. I also recommend listening to the audiobook version of Sadie if you get the chance. It brings a whole new experience to the story.


Do you enjoy reading classics? Have you read any of the books on my list? Would you agree with my recommendations? What books would you recommend based on these classics?

10 thoughts on “If You Liked That…Read This: Classics Edition

  1. Ummm, can I do this in reverse?
    How about, if you like pirate stories, then please try the Robert Louis Stevenson classic, ‘Treasure Island’.
    I have a friend with a ten year old daughter. They are in difficult circumstances. I am going to build her a bookshelf, and give her a copy of ‘Treasure Island’, in the hopes that this will spark a love of reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I love that idea! I’m actually currently watching the tv show, Black Sails, right now which is supposed to be a prequel to Treasure Island. I’ve never read it either so I think you just helped me realize I need to pick it up!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s