Book Haul · Contemporary · Diverse · Dystopian · Fantasy · LGBTQ · Review · Science Fiction · Subscription Box · Young Adult

Subscription Box Review: December Owlcrate, Book Boyfriend, and FairyLoot

Sorry for the late posts with this one, because I’m sure that by now y’all have already seen all of the unboxings. However, I’m gonna do it anyways… so ha! I’ve also decided to combine all of my unboxings into one post. For December I received 3 boxes – Owlcrate, Book Boyfriend, and FairyLoot!


Book Boyfriend

Book Boyfriend Box is a U.S. based bi-monthly subscription box. Each box will include a newly released hardcover book and a few other bookish items that are curated around a specific theme. One or more subscribers will also receive a bonus item with each box, which are selected at random. Boxes start at $29.99 per month.

The December theme was Love Letters and inspired by all of the amazing men from Jane Austen’s novels.

fullsizeoutput_ca1.jpeg

  • Quill Pen – I wasn’t sure at first if I would like this pen as it looked heavy, but I pleasantly surprised to see that it wasn’t! I’ve already used this pen a few times and I love it!
  • Notepad – Who doesn’t love Captain Wentworth? I love this notepad designed by Drop and Give Me Nerdy, with it’s beautiful Austen quote. It’s the perfect size to carry around with you without weighing down your purse/bag. So pretty!
  • Loose Tea – This is a Pride and Prejudice  herbal tea blend from First Edition Tea Co.. Y’all should know by now that I’m the BIGGEST tea drinker. I’m not a real fan of coffee but hot tea is the love of my life. I’m so excited to try this blend because it smells divine.
  • Coaster – I’m kind of obsessed with this coaster from Favoring Brave  that is made from upcycled pages of Persuasion. Like how cool is that?! It will go perfectly with my cup of tea actually!
  • Soap – Okay, this soap made of goat’s milk is from The MacBath and smells AMAZING. It’s also insanely cute with a quote from Pride and Prejudice printed into it. I’ve actually already used it all up now – that’s how much I loved it.
  • Hardcover Book – The book in this month’s box was We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen. I really appreciated that they chose a book that wasn’t super hyped like most boxes tend to stick with. I haven’t heard anything about this book yet but the synopsis sounds sooo good. I also love that it included some bookish swag, including a music playlist to listen to while you read it! If you love books written in letter form, the 80’s, and great music references then you’ll probably enjoy this cute love story.

It’s the summer of 1982, and for Scott and Cath, everything is about to change.

Growing up across the street from each other, Scott and Cath have been best friends for most of their lives. Now they’ve graduated high school, and Cath is off to college while Scott stays at home trying to get his band off the ground. Neither of them realized that their first year after high school would be so hard.

Fortunately, Scott and Cath still have each other, and it’s through their letters that they survive heartache, annoying roommates, family dramas, and the pressure of figuring out what to do with the rest of their lives. And through it all, they realize that the only person they’ve ever wanted to turn to is each other. But does that mean they should think about being more than friends? One thing is clear: Change is an inescapable part of growing up, and we share unbreakable bonds with the friends who help us navigate it.

For my first box from Book Boyfriend, I was pleasantly surprised and am really excited for this month’s box to arrive. The theme for February is Out of This World and is perfect for fans of Red Rising, The Lunar Chronicles, and Star Wars!

Owlcrate

Owlcrate is a monthly bookish subscription box that includes one new release YA hardback novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish items. Each month revolves around a different theme that ties in with the book and goodies. It is also one of the few boxes that ships almost anywhere in the world. Subscriptions start at $29.99 per month.

The theme for December was Epic was curated around epic adventure fantasy books.

IMG_9155.JPG

  • Funko Mini – 12 different mystery mini vinyl Funko! collectibles from Harry Potter were sent out in this month’s boxes. I received the always adorable and appropriate for bookworms, Hermione. She’s just too cute and is already gracing my bookshelf right now!
  • Pin – This really gorgeous enamel Lord of the Rings was created by Ideal Bookshelf. I’m a huge LOTR fan so I was pretty excited about this pin. I also got a really cool canvas duffle bag for Christmas that this will look perfect on.
  • Coasters – Okay, I’m kind of in love with these house sigils from Game of Thrones. There is a coaster for Houses Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, and Targaryen. Basically all of the main players are present and accounted for. I would’ve liked to have seen House Tyrell in there too, but I really can’t complain either way. Dark Horse Comics did a great job with these for sure.
  • Sticker – This crazy beautiful quote sticker from A Darker Shade of Magic was created by Miss Phi. I’m so glad to add this one to my sticker collection, as it’s one of my all-time favorite book quotes!
  • Greeting Card – The Chronicles of Narnia is such a classic and I think this exclusive design from Susanne Draws, captures the beauty and whimsical nature of it perfectly.  It’s so pretty that I don’t think I’ll be able to send it to someone but will probably end up hanging it on my wall instead. Oops!
  • Hardcover Book – This month’s book is a diverse fantasy read that includes an LGTBQA romance, Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. I’ve heard some good things about this one so I hope it lives up to the hype!

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine—called Mare—the sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two become closer, Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. And soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

The February theme is Run Away with the Circus!

FairyLoot

FairyLoot is a London-based monthly subscription box. It focuses exclusively on fantasy/science fiction YA novels. Each month will include a brand new release and 4-6 other bookish goodies as well. Subscriptions start at £26 + shipping.

The December theme was Sci-fi Adventure and was curated around some science fiction favorites.

IMG_9203.JPG

  • Pop Funko! – It’s a Stormtrooper vinyl character… Obviously I love it!
  • Bath Powder – This kryptonite bath powder was created by Geeky Clean, and smells like you just stepped into a bath full of cupcakes. I’ve already used some and laughed so hard when I saw that it turned my water completely green. Soooo fun!
  • Socks – These galaxy socks were created exclusively by FairyLoot and are so pretty. They’re also really silky and of good quality. They didn’t bleed either when I washed them, so that’s always very appreciated!
  • Bookmark – This beautiful watercolor bookmark was exclusively designed by LexyOlivia for this FairyLoot box. It’s a quote from The Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman. I actually own the first book in this trilogy but haven’t read it yet. I plan to rectify that this year though!
  • Lunar Chronicles Art Print & Red Rising Buttons – Both of these were designed and created exclusively by Taratjah. I’m soooooo obsessed with both of these. I’ve always loved seeing her creations in boxes and all over bookstagram, and now I get to have a piece. I’ll definitely be picking up some more of her designs in the future.
  • Bonus Prints: Red Rising and The Long War to a Small, Angry Planet – Both of these art prints were added bonuses to this box and I love them both so much! I’m kind of a sucker for art prints, and being a Howler too, that Red Rising one is totally speaking to me. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
  • Hardcover Book – The book featured in this month’s box was Flashfall (Flashfall #1) by Jenny Moyer. This science fiction novel is the first in a planned duology and is giving me serious Red Rising vibes which I’m all about. I can’t wait to pick it up and experience it for myself!

Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.

But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

The February theme is Emperors and Fugitives!


What did you think of the December boxes? What are some other subscription boxes do you subscribe to or recommend? Have you read any of the books that came in the boxes? What did you think of them?

One thought on “Subscription Box Review: December Owlcrate, Book Boyfriend, and FairyLoot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s